Lumia 630


A couple of years back I never thought I’d be buying a Windows phone, but I have used Windows  Mobile quite extensively in the past. At R$ 320 (approximately US$ 104) I found a Lumia 630 to be a really good upgrade for my wife, after a LG L40 she’d been using.

Nokia Lumia 630

Here’s what I like about it:

  • 4.5 inch screen with good viewing angles and blacks.
  • Nice sturdy plastic body.
  • Replaceable 1830 mAh battery. The phone lasts almost two days on a charge without heavy use.
  • Dual Sim.
  • Quad-core Snapdragon 430 with sensor core technology for activity tracking.
  • 5 megapixel back camera with autofocus.
  • Digital TV.
  • It’ll get a free update to Windows 10 for phones.

Here’s what could be better:

  • It has 512 MB of RAM. The kinds of apps my wife uses hardly demand any more.
  • No camera flash. The situations where that would help are very few. It does make a handy flashlight though.
  • No screen brightness adjustment based on ambient light.
  • Mail app does not support push notification, and GMail specific features. My wife ended up trading the phone for my daughter’s Moto E.
  • Poor app ecosystem means you end up having to use the browser a lot more often.

Leave a Reply

