iPhone 5 is an evolution, not revolution


The iPhone 5 has launched. It is evolutionary, not revolutionary, which is probably as it should be. As an iPhone 4S user, the bigger screen is the only thing that attracts me right now. Brazilian operators will not be getting it for a while, so Nano-SIMs are going to be hard to procure. LTE is another good reason to upgrade, but most Brazilian cities have no LTE. Maybe by the time of the FIFA World Cup of 2014, more cities will gain LTE coverage. I will not upgrade to an iPhone 5, probably an iPhone 6 (?) in 2014.

The iPod line, particularly the Touch, has received significant upgrades. At 5 mega-pixels, with flash and autofocus, the rear camera of Touch has gone beyond being a toy to seriously challenge older point-and-shoot digital cameras. With dual core A5 CPU and dual core graphics, it has also received a much needed performance boost. The $ 299 starting price is worth it considering that it gets you 32 GB of flash memory.

The iPod is clearly the winner of the day. I’ll be buying the new Touch as soon as I get the opportunity to do so, especially since the purported iPad Mini seems to be nowhere in sight. I am happy with the iOS ecosystem, maturity of the apps being my primary reason, followed closely by AirPlay. The iTunes store in Brazil lacks books, but is otherwise quite on par with the US store. Hopefully Google Play store the Android ecosystem will catch up in the near future, I may then consider buying Android devices.

3 thoughts on “iPhone 5 is an evolution, not revolution

  1. Hi, thanks for the article. I have a question for you: I’m travelling to Rio to visit family in February and my little cousin is insisting that I buy her an iPhone 5. I tried to explain to her, that the major difference is the 4G capability which is not yet available in Brazil and that she would be better off with an iPhone 4. Another issue is, I’m not even sure the iPhone 5 works in Rio. She said she has a friend who bought one in NY and is now using it in Brazil. I think her friend is full of BS since I haven’t been able to find anything that indicates the iPhone 5 bought in the U.S. will work in Brazil. Do you have any insight? Thanks!

    1. Hi Daniela. The iPhone 5 should work all right once you have the SIM card cut down to the right size. I am assuming the friend used one of several DIY articles that explain how to cut/convert a normal SIM to a nano SIM. Without LTE support from the network she is probably using the iPhone 5 in 3G mode only. As and when the carrier does provide LTE support, the phone may or may not use LTE depending on the frequency band in use. Another thing to note is that the iPhone 5 is not authorized by the Brazilian FCC (ANATEL) yet, so don’t ever ship it by mail. If discovered, the authorities may destroy it. I would suggest getting the iPhone 5 if your cousin is insisting on it, worst case she’ll have to live without LTE.

Leave a Reply

